Levi Aikman and the Redfish

Levi Aikman and the Redfish

Click the link above to read the short from my 2014 NaNoWriMo project

For those of you familiar with NaNoWriMo, or the National Novel Writing Month, you are probably aware of what it consists of. If you’re not familiar with it, NaNoWriMo is 30 days of writing in November in which that author must produce 50,000 words of a novel. Typically this is considered a short novel, or what’s called a novella, but often this time period acts as a spring board in which other major projects are launched.

1464611_10153285139239202_7687858107067098514_nFor NaNoWriMo 2014 I broke the rules a little and decided to finish a novel I had started rather than start one. In August of 2013 I began a novel that had its origins in some messy, awful, self-indulgent crap I had begun in high school. I won’t bore you with the details of the early stages of that project. You Can’t Go Home Again is a project which I am currently working on under a different pseudonym as it is Sci-Fi and concerns the United States in 2043. It’s the sort of material that would make The John Birch Society blush as it is staunchly anti-world government. The premiss is that a false flag attack is hijacked by a real terrorist organization and sets off a chain of events leading to civil unrest in the country. This leads my protagonists to be forced to exist in a state that many Americans have only known in their nightmares. It’s got everything: Three-percenters, hippies, Jehovah’s Witnesses, mechanized machines of death, and a girl named Alice with very special powers.

So all that said, I am in real life an enthusiastic fly fisherman, and as it turns out so is my protagonist Levi Aikman. I love writing about fishing in a way that Hemingway loved to write about bullfights. The section I’m presenting here comes after all the major action of the book, and I had to write it in order to push myself toward the 50,000 word mark. NaNoers know the feeling. Their objective for the time being is survival and with limited food supplies they have to make due with what they can. It’s a good thing Levi brought his fly rod.

One thought on “Levi Aikman and the Redfish

  1. Pingback: Claire Voyant at the End of the World | James Windale

Leave a Reply

