So we meet again, Mr. Bond?

I might be biased as a James Bond fan. I would love to see Bond played by a Scotsman who drinks martini’s and wields a Walther. I preferred Desmond Llewelyn as Q because of his dry agitated sense of humor. Sean Connery, for all his grandeur, is no longer suitable to play Bond. He shouldn’t have even done that Thunderball reboot in the early 80s entitled Never Say Never Again. There has never been a more inappropriately named Bond film. That said, he is still my favorite Bond, with Roger Moore coming in as a very close second.

I’m not a huge fan of Rush Limbaugh, so I wont rush in to defend him (no pun intended). Part of me doesn’t want to defend him because I’m tired of the perpetuated racism argument and I don’t want to dignify it. At some point, everyone is going to say something that sounds off color, and my understanding is that Mr. Limbaugh has had his fair share of faux pas when it comes to his political point. I also don’t think that what he said is based in racism, because it’s what he actually said that matters.

“Now Sony is suggesting that the next James Bond should be Idris Elba, a black Britain, rather than a white from Scotland. But that’s not who James Bond is.

I know it’s racist to probably point this out, but the franchise needs to get with it! We had 50 years of white Bonds because Bond was white!  Bond was never black. Ian Fleming never created a black Brit to play James Bond. He was always white, always Scottish.”

If you live in a glass house, I challenge you to throw the first stone. If you were brought up on the products of George Lucas and groan when Episodes I-III are discussed then you’re a hypocrite. Shia Labeouf in an Indiana Jones movie? For that matter a fourth Indiana Jones movie? Let’s all get our priorities straight, because if you’re a purist when it comes to films of any sort, then you agree with Rush Limbaugh. I’ll give my left-leaning friends a moment to gather their composure. Deep breaths.

There’s nothing wrong with being a purist, just ask the Catholic Church. I myself was baptized and married in a Congregationalist church and did my confirmation in a Methodist church. I’m also a Freemason, so I can never be considered a purist when  it comes to religion, and I’m happy with that. I’ve never read Ian Fleming’s novels so I can’t say that James Bond is Scottish, but then again I don’t recall in any of the Connery films when he claimed to be one. Please cite that moment for me in the comments if I’m wrong, because my purist mind needs to catalogue that information.

If you think that James Bond is Scottish then you don’t care for Roger Moore, George Lazenby, Timothy Dalton, Pierce Brosnan, or Daniel Craig. Heck, I’ll even throw David Niven in there for good measure. The sun never sets on the British Empire, and Her Majesty is able to pull from a wide swath of colonial nation states in order to assure that her realm, and that of Britain’s allies, are protected. I’m a red, white, and blue American and I believe in God, apple pie, and high capacity magazines, but Jason Bourne doesn’t hold a match to 007. Guys, the last time you put on a tux, was your instinct to look in the mirror and say “How could I forget you? You’re the only person I know.”? No. Regardless of your race, height, weight, sexual orientation, or language  you said “Bond. James Bond.” Every guy wants to be James Bond, with Tom Brady or David Beckham as a backup.

When it comes to who plays James Bond I have only one thing to say: Respect the character. I don’t care what color he is, I better be entertained and you better not push a social issue. It had better be a villain that can’t (and shouldn’t) be taken alive and he/she needs to die a death of extraordinary proportions. I expect fast cars, guns, explosions, and a smoking hot Bond girl. I don’t care where Bond comes from or what 007 looks like, because in the end the only thing that matters is that MI-6’s top agent is on our side, and is the only thing standing between The Crown/Western Civilization and evil.

http://www.truthrevolt.org/news/rush-limbaugh-racist-thoughts-black-actor-play-next-james-bond

Leave a Reply

