Editing and Writing

I have two works in progress that are clamoring for my attention. If I consider everything I’m writing presently I would have four books that I am currently writing, two of them under different names. This is not counting the short stories I have in progress that stem from my other novels. In this sense I am an extremely busy literary person.

The next book I am launching is entitled Don’t Look Back in Anger and I am hoping for an April or May release date for it. The other one I have is called Tuesday’s Gone and I am shooting for an October release date for that. It is shorter than Don’t Look Back in Anger and Twenty-Five at the Lip, and it was born one night as I was about to rush out the door to a fraternal meeting. It is quickly becoming my favorite piece to work on and my utterly amazing and incredibly talented cover artist Jenny has already told me she’s in love with the character.

Writing it awesome, but editing sucks. In fact, right now I am offering you a shining example of just that philosophy. I should be editing Don’t Look Back in Anger, but I’m not because I’m blogging about how much I hate editing. Writing is more fun than editing because you are inspired and you are creating. With editing you are literally destroying.

I had a bonsai tree once. The idea of a bonsai tree is to keep it trimmed and happy inside a little pot, effectively stunting its growth like an overbearing parent who actually wants their child to remain living in their basement. I was so attentive to my little bonsai that I cut it back so much that it was no longer a tree but a stick in an over-watered muddy pot. So with this metaphor for editing you understand why I hate cutting things.

Don’t Look Back in Anger is a complete story with a beginning, middle, and an end, but it reads like it was written by Picasso. This project is so old that I actually have an older style of writing in the beginning and then my more evolved style at the end. The editing job that this book requires is going to take a team of anthropologists and engineers to deconstruct and put back together. It’s worth it though because I know that this book is too damn good to not be published. It’s a story that needs to be read, particularly in the day and age we live in.

2 thoughts on “Editing and Writing

Leave a Reply

