Editing Tuesday’s Gone

f2a12ed8af3693c33175f90ec8d3d935

My first beta-reader has gotten back to me with his thoughts on Tuesday’s Gone. I’m very happy to report that he really enjoyed the storyline and found that it flowed well. I have another beta-reader who has told me that she can visualize the train in the opening sequences and also said that the Tuesday and Miss Millie are well defined. My very trusted cover artist told me that she was in love with Tuesday and Judah after only 6,300 words and that Tuesday’s situation really tugs at the heart strings.

There are of course things that need to be worked on. The text itself is a modest 63,300 + words and while the flow is nice I can easily add to the text to bring about a better sense of belonging to my little runaway and her lion protector. This will come in hand especially when she meets Mabel and the Glawsons.

Circus Girl and Lion

There is an underlying theme that runs through it and some might pick up on it easier than others. I don’t actually say the words, but there is a great deal of symbolism in Tuesday’s Gone that I think will appeal to a lot of readers.

Jordan and I believe that the ending could use some work, but for the most part the issues are more cosmetic than contextual so any changes that need to be made can be done so easily. The story is being received very well and I’m looking forward to hearing back from my other beta-readers. Me being me though I can’t sit still and I miss working on the project so I want to get right back into it. I love these characters as much as Calvin and Valerie or Jeremy and Carley so they are really fun to work with. I finished it at the end of December and I’ve waited a month, reading it through twice and cleaning it up a little, but I want to get back into it again.

liontamer


As you know, I’ve been trying to help spread the word about Diana Serra Cary (Baby Peggy). She is one of the last silent film stars who is still with us and she has been overlooked for decades in being selected for a star of the Hollywood Walk of Fame. She is 96 years old and in her lifetime she was not only a movie star who brought joy to millions, but she also is a fervent advocate for the working conditions of child performers.

Please consider taking a moment to contact Turner Classic Movies, a television network that has expressed an interest in seeing Diana awarded this honor. There is little advocacy being done for her and this is why I am asking you all to send TCM a message encouraging them to continue their efforts to see this dream become a reality. They can be reached at:

TCM Viewer Relations

1050 Techwood Drive NW

Atlanta, GA 30318

or by email at:

http://www.tcm.com/contact-tcm.html

(click on the microphone link that says Contact Us)

Leave a Reply

