Jenny Johnston Illustration and my own self-promotion adventures. Wattpad and Camp NaNoWriMo 2015

Lots of things are happening lately and I am really happy with the direction that my work is going in.

10498441_1576126152671541_4169244528817856552_o

From Jenny Johnston Illustration

25atthelip 4contrast- Final Draft

Twenty-Five at the Lip cover art by Jenny Johnston Illustration

First and foremost I am going to give a shout out to my cover artist, Jenny Johnston of Jenny Johnston Illustration. She has recently established herself on a number of social media platforms in order to jumpstart her illustration and art business. She is a graduate of the University of South Florida and now works creating cover art for authors, graphic design, as well as her own artistic and literary pursuits. Her first children’s book will be debuting soon, featuring her own art and storyline. It is not be be missed! Jenny comes with my highest regards and recommendations. She can be followed on a number of platforms including Facebook, Tumblr, Pinterest, Instagram, and Twitter. Jenny and I have been doing a great deal of work together and she had been providing me with incredible covers for my novels. Her work on Twenty-Five at the Lip still blows my mind and often grabs the viewer’s eye. I’ve already seen the cover she has planned for Don’t Look Back in Anger and it is everything I could have hoped for. I can’t wait to share it with you all!

Just Say Maybe cover 1So Camp NaNoWriMo 2015 is already off to an epic start and my cabin mate Nova and I are slated to finish early, which is always a good sign. Just Say Maybe, as I had hoped, is going to be huge. It might possibly be some of my best work yet. Trying to hit a daily word count though can be daunting and I am looking forward to another week of progress, inching my way to thirty thousand words. Just Say Maybe will be way, way more than that when finally completed, but given the amount of work I have planned for the next few months it is a more appropriate goal given the fact that I have two more publications to get through before Just Say Maybe is ready to print and download. For the time being though, you can check it out on Wattpad…

1464611_10153285139239202_7687858107067098514_n

My own pitiful attempt at cover art. This is why I go to Jenny Johnston…

Which brings me to Wattpad! On the Facebook NaNoWriMo page I subscribe to I have been learning a lot about self-promotion and how other authors are getting their work looked at , not necessarily by big name publishers (being an indie author you might not want that sort of exposure for whatever reason), but by other readers who share your genre. On the recommendation of some of my fellow authors I’ve set up an account with Wattpad where I am currently displaying my contemporary fiction under James Windale, as well as some Sci-Fi pieces under my alter-ego Jeremy Brinkett. I currently have the first five chapters of my civil unrest epic You Can’t Go Home Again up on my Wattpad, as well as the first two sections of Just Say Maybe. You can follow me on Wattpad under my name, James Windale.

I have figured out a pattern in which I am able to promote my own work, blog, and upcoming projects. Sundays you can expect a WordPress blog by me, right here. Tuesday’s have developed into Tuesday’s Gone promotional days, while Fridays have gone to Twenty-Five at the Lip. As time goes on and we are approaching new release dates you can expect new material. Check out my new Wattpad page and look to Jenny for all your artistic needs. You will NOT be disappointed!

Leave a Reply

